Month: October 2010

Dr. Robert Fisher Co-Authors New Book with James DeFilippis and Eric Shragge

Dr. Robert Fisher has co-authored a new book with colleagues, James DeFilippis and Eric Shragge, entitled Contesting Community The Limits and Potential of Local Organizing (Rutgers University Press, June 2010). The book examines the proliferation of community-based efforts in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada, emphasizing the limits and potential of contemporary efforts. The authors wrote the book because “we had witnessed the marginalization of the longer term goals of economic and social justice as part of the agenda of community organizing. In its place, we see a narrower focus on much more limited practice…We thought a book that broadly examines the direction of community practice would answer the question of why this has happened and what other possibilities exist.” According to a recent review by Frances Fox Piven she states, “This book could not be more timely…A major contribution to the ongoing debates about community and social movement organizing.”

Dr. Lynne Healy to Receive the Outstanding Community Service Award

Dr. Lynne Healy is the recipient of the Outstanding Community Service Award from The West Indian Foundation, Inc.  Healy will be honored on November 6th at the organization’s 32nd Annual Anniversary & Scholarship Gala for her significant contributions to the linkage program between the UConn School of Social Work and the University of the West Indies Social Work Program.

Lynne M. Healy, PhD

Catherine Havens honored as a Mentor for Women in Social Work Education

Catherine Havens was honored as a Mentor for women in social work education at the Council on Social Work Education’s (CSWE) Annual Program Meeting. Dr. Robin Spath, a member of the CSWE Council on the Role and Status of Women in Social Work Education, chose Associate Dean Havens to honor at the Women’s Council Networking Breakfast on October 16th in Portland, Oregon.

Catherine M. Havens, JD, MSW, Director of the MSW Program and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

The Mentor Recognition Program was created to honor those mentors who have increased the visibility of women in social work education and made a difference in their lives.

Provost Nicholls Announces Appointment of Dr. Salome Raheim to the Provost’s Commission on Institutional Diversity

Provost Peter Nicholls announced that Dr. Salome Raheim, Dean of the School of Social Work, and Dr. Jeremy Teitelbaum, Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, have been appointed for a three-year term to lead the Provost’s Commission on Institutional Diversity. This Commission will be charged to address critical issues surrounding inclusion, diversity, equity, and access at the University.

Salome Raheim, PhD, ACSW, Dean of the School of Social Work

In order to maintain continuity of the University’s efforts in these areas, a meeting of former stakeholders as well as other recommended key stakeholders will take place soon. Provost Nicholls will be gathering input regarding the direction of this Commission in an effort to advance the goals outlined in the Academic Plan.

Future announcements about the organization and the work of this Commission will be forthcoming.