Dr. Salome Raheim Appointed to a Second Term as Dean

UConn Provost & Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs Mun Choi announced that Dr. Salome Raheim has been appointed to serve a second, five-year term as Dean of the School of Social Work. During her tenure, Dean Raheim has developed or expanded an impressive array of research and outreach programs.

Salome Raheim, PhD, ACSW Dean and Professor, UConn School of Social Work

Among these are the Title IV-A DSS project, public engagement initiatives through partnerships with the City of Hartford, globalization programs with developing countries, as well as various healthcare disparities initiatives, including the Bioscience CT Health Disparities Institute. Dean Raheim is recognized as a leader who consistently demonstrates integrity, honesty, and high standards. She is also recognized for being an effective representative of the University and for establishing strong positive relationships and interactions with external stakeholders.

In response to her appointment, Dr. Raheim remarked, “My first term as Dean has been a delightful journey of working collaboratively with the School of Social Work and University community, as well as external partners, to advance our mission. I am proud of our collective accomplishments in teaching, research and public engagement. Looking forward, UConn’s faculty hiring initiative and our planned move to Hartford present significant opportunities to build on our successes. This is an exciting time to be Dean of this School.”

The evaluation committee was comprised of faculty from across the University and chaired by Dr. John Salamone:

  • John Salamone (BOT Distinguished Professor of Psychology), Chair
  • Edna Comer (Associate Professor, School of Social Work)
  • Nina Heller (Associate Professor, School of Social Work)
  • Lirio Negroni (Associate Professor, School of Social Work)
  • Ronald Sabatelli (Professor and Department Head, Human Development & Family Studies)
  • Richard Schwab (Professor of Educational Leadership and Emeritus Dean, Neag School of Education)
  • Louise Simmons (Professor, School of Social Work)