School Recognized by NASW Connecticut Chapter

On October 2, 2014 four members of the SSW community were honored by the National Association of Social Workers CT Chapter at their Annual Awards Dinner.

Award recipients: Waldo Klein, Rebecca Thomas, Kyle Barrette, Jennifer Glick UConn SSW faculty, staff, students and alumni turned out in force to celebrate with the NASW CT award recipients

Emeritus Professor Waldo Klein, MSW, Ph.D. received the Lifetime Achievement Award “for his leadership, scholarship, and education of students in gerontology, compassion and commitment to quality of care, significant contributions through community engagement, and for a career that exemplifies the mission, values, and aspirations of social work”.

The Educator of the Year Award was presented to Professor Rebecca Thomas, MSW, Ph.D. for “being an educator of extraordinary ability and dedication, for innovative teaching, collaborative engagement with students, and abiding commitment to equality and social justice”.
Jennifer Glick MSW ’05 received the Social Worker of the Year Award for her “tireless advocacy on behalf of mental health and the older adult, generosity of spirit in assisting colleagues, and for leadership in the 60 West Project”.

The MSW Student of the Year Award was presented to Kyle Barrette MSW ’14 for his “distinguished academic achievement, innovative thinking, vision for social change, and dedication to expanding the field of international social work”.