Dean’s Board of Advocates


The purpose of the UConn School of Social Work’s Dean’s Board of Advocates is to assist the Dean in furthering the School’s prominence and relevance in Connecticut and beyond. The Board partners with the Dean to promote the School’s achievements, build and strengthen relationships with alumni, and participate in fundraising activities. Board members serve as ambassadors for the School in the community, advocates for the social work profession, leaders in the community, and active in projects and philanthropy that support student success and further the School’s goals.


Joanne Cannon, Deputy State Director, Office of Senator Christopher Murphy

Ayesha Clarke, Vice President of Operations, COMPASS Youth Collaborative

Paula Crombie, Retired Director of Social Work, Yale New Haven Hospital

Miriam Delphin-Rittmon, Commissioner, CT Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services

Vannessa Dorantes, Commissioner, CT Department of Children and Families

Leslie Torres-Rodriguez, Superintendent, Hartford Public Schools

Michelle Volle Borden, Chief Executive Officeer, Newbridge Services

Susan Walkama, Retired President and CEO, Wheeler Clinic

Alicia Woodsby, Executive Director, Partnership for Strong Communities