Our Faculty and Staff

Combining professional experience, scholarship, and research, our nationally and internationally renowned faculty develop innovative programs and approaches, provide critical insight into the profession, and develop teaching materials that are used widely in social work education.

UConn School of Social Work faculty frequently serve as presenters at regional, national and international conferences. They are widely published and engage in the development and dissemination of innovative research. They serve on editorial boards and as committee members on regional and national peer review committees for granting agencies, journal publishers, and University, national and international meetings. Involved in a wide range of service activities in professional social work organizations and in the community at local and national levels, our faculty hold leadership positions as officers and board members of professional organizations.

The teaching of our full-time faculty is complemented by our diverse pool of adjunct instructors. Our adjunct instructors apply their knowledge and professional experience to inform their teaching and help students bridge their understanding of theory and practice. We value adjunct instructors as part of our community, and we appreciate their efforts in contributing to the education of our social work students.

The UConn School of Social Work staff is dedicated to supporting you and the work of the School. Learn more about our faculty and staff by clicking on their bios below. See Areas of Expertise below to search faculty be research expertise.

Faculty

Megan Berthold

S. Megan Berthold, PhD

Professor

megan.berthold@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3656

Room 318 HSSW

F. Tony Bonadio

F. Tony Bonadio, PhD

Assistant Research Professor

Innovations Institute

tony.bonadio@uconn.edu

Associate Research Professor Margo Candelaria

Margo Candelaria, Ph.D.

Associate Research Professor

Innovations Institute

margo.candelaria@uconn.edu

Patricia Carlson, PhD

Patricia Carlson, PhD

Assistant Research Professor

patricia.carlson@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3637

Room 216 HSSW

Kelsi Carolan

Kelsi Carolan, PhD

Assistant Professor

kelsi.carolan@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3680

Room 224 HSSW

Headshot of Dean Laura Curran

Laura Curran, Ph.D.

Dean and Professor

laura.curran@uconn.edu

959-200-3648

Room 303 HSSW

Caitlin Elsaesser, PhD

Caitlin Elsaesser, PhD

Associate Professor

caitlin.elsaesser@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3671

Room 221 HSSW

Kimberly Estep

Kimberly Estep, MA

Director for Systems Design and Implementation Strategies and Assistant Extension Professor

Innovations Institute

kimberly.estep@uconn.edu

Megan Feely

Megan Feely, PhD

Associate Professor

megan.feely@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3625

Room 214 HSSW

Professor Bob Fisher head shot

Robert Fisher, PhD

Professor

robert.fisher@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3623

Room 212 HSSW

Ann Marie Garran

Ann Marie Garran, PhD

Associate Professor

annmarie.garran@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3651

Room 326 HSSW

Elizabeth Greeno

Elizabeth Greeno, PhD

Associate Research Professor

Innovations Institute

elizabeth.greeno@uconn.edu

Deborah Harburger, MSW

Deborah Harburger, MSW

Director of Policy and Financing and Assistant Extension Professor

Innovations Institute

deborah.harburger@uconn.edu

Scott Harding, PhD

Scott Harding, PhD

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Associate Professor and Co-Director, PhD Program

scott.harding@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3628

Room 301 HSSW

Professor Nina Heller

Nina Rovinelli Heller, PhD

Professor and Dean Emerita

nina.heller@uconn.edu

Gio Iacono, PhD

Gio Iacono, PhD

Assistant Professor

gio.iacono@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3624

Room 213 HSSW

Joy Learman, Ph.D.

Joy Learman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor in Residence

joy.learman@uconn.edu

Regina Lester-Harriat

Regina Lester-Harriat, LMSW

Assistant Professor in Residence

regina.lester-harriat@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3677

Room 323 HSSW

Associate Professor Kathyrn Libal

Kathryn Libal, PhD

Associate Professor and Director, UConn Human Rights Institute

kathryn.libal@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3633

Room 313 HSSW

Hsiu-Ju Lin, PhD

Hsiu-Ju Lin, PhD

Associate Research Professor

hsiu-ju.lin@uconn.edu

(860) 418-6662

Margaret Lloyd Sieger, PhD

Margaret Lloyd Sieger, PhD

Associate Professor

margaret.lloydsieger@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3653

Room 310 HSSW

Elizabeth Manley

Elizabeth Manley, LSW

Senior Advisor for Health and Behavioral Health Policy and Assistant Extension Professor

Innovations Institute

elizabeth.manley@uconn.edu

Associate Dean Jennifer Manuel

Jennifer Manuel, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Associate Dean for Research

jennifer.manuel@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3612

Marlene Matarese

Marlene Matarese, PhD

Associate Research Professor

Innovations Institute

marlene.matarese@uconn.edu

BSW Director Paula Nieman

Paula Nieman, PhD

Assistant Professor in Residence and BSW Program Director

paula.nieman@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3659

Room 308 HSSW

Assistant Professor Nathanael Okpych

Nathanael Okpych, PhD

Associate Professor

nathanael.okpych@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3622

Room 211 HSSW

Meg Paceley

Meg Paceley, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

meg.paceley@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3481

Room 209 HSSW

Rupal Parekh

Rupal Parekh, PhD

Assistant Professor

rupal.parekh@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3627

Room 317 HSSW

SSW building entrance

Kathryn Parr

Assistant Research Professor

Office of Early Childhood

kathryn.parr@uconn.edu

Jon Phillips

Jon Phillips, PhD

Assistant Professor

jon.phillips@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3630

Room 218 HSSW

Lisa Werkmeister Rozas, PhD

Lisa Werkmeister Rozas, PhD

Professor

lisa.werkmeister_rozas@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3654

Room 311 HSSW

Lesly Sanchez-Villar

Lesly Sanchez-Villar, LMSW

Assistant Professor in Residence

lesly.sanchez-villar@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3657

Room 314 HSSW

Sukhmani Singh

Sukhmani Singh, PhD

Assistant Professor

sukhmani.singh@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3675

Room 321 HSSW

Tanya Rhodes Smith

Tanya Rhodes Smith, MSW

Instructor in Residence and Director, Nancy A. Humphreys Institute for Political Social Work

tanya.smith@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3631

Room 219 HSSW

Ellen Smith

Ellen Smith, PhD

Associate Professor in Residence

ellen.smith@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3634

Room 222 HSSW

Linda Sprague Martinez, Ph.D.

Linda Sprague Martinez, Ph.D.

Faculty Affiliate, Professor in the Department of Medicine, and Director of the Health Disparities Institute at UConn Health

spraguemartinez@uchc.edu

Denise Sulzbach, JD

Denise Sulzbach, JD

Director of the TA Network and Assistant Extension Professor

Innovations Institute

Denise.sulzbach@uconn.edu

Assistant Extension Professor Kate Sweeney

Kate Sweeney, MSW

Assistant Extension Professor

Innovations Institute

kate.sweeney@uconn.edu

Professor Rebecca Thomas

Rebecca Thomas, PhD

Professor and Director, Center for International Social Work Studies

rlthomas@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3681

Room 327 HSSW

Wendy Ulaszek, PhD

Wendy Ulaszek, PhD

Associate Research Professor

wendy.ulaszek@uconn.edu

(860) 418-6762

Professor Cristina Wilson

Cristina Wilson, PhD

Professor and Co-Director, PhD Program

cristina.wilson@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3674

Room 320 HSSW

Innovations Institute Director Michelle Zabel

Michelle Zabel, MSS

Executive Director of the Innovations Institute and Associate Extension Professor

Innovations Institute

michelle.zabel@uconn.edu

Staff

Kathy Birnie

Kathy Birnie, LMSW

Program Assistant

Office of Student and Academic Services

kathy.birnie@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3603

Room 106 HSSW

SSW building entrance

Kelley Citroni, MS

Administrative Program Support

Office of Research and Scholarship

kelley.citroni@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3645

Room 206 HSSW

Isalena Gilzene, Field Coordinator

Isalena Gilzene, MSW

Placement Coordinator

Practicum Education Department

isalena.gilzene@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3606

Room 112 HSSW

SSW building entrance

Vasi Gournaris, MPA

Grants and Contracts Specialist

Office of Research and Scholarship

vasi.gournaris@uconn.edu

860-258-5800

Abigail G. Jackson, BA

Abigail Jackson, BA

Associate Director of Alumni Relations, Social Work & Law

ajackson@foundation.uconn.edu

(959) 200-3657

Room 314 HSSW

Carlton Jones

Carlton Jones, MS

Director of the Office of Student and Academic Services

Office of Student and Academic Services

carlton.jones@uconn.edu

Room 108 HSSW

Ziba Kashef, BA

Ziba Kashef, BA

Publicity/Marketing Administrator

Publicity/Marketing

ziba.kashef@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3629

Room 220 HSSW

Maria Koistinen, MSW

Maria Koistinen, MSW

Placement Coordinator

Practicum Education Department

maria.koistinen@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3607

Room 112 HSSW

Chelsea Lebron, BA

Chelsea Lebron, BA

Educational Program Assistant II

Office of the Dean

chelsea.lebron@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3649

Liane Lussier Smith, LCSW

Liane Lussier Smith, LCSW

Interim Practicum Education Director

Practicum Education Department

liane.lussier-smith@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3608

Room 112 HSSW

Natalie O'Connor, BA

Natalie Maddox (O'Connor), BA

Program Coordinator

Office of Student and Academic Services

natalie.o'connor@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3604

Room 106 HSSW

Steve Marchillo, BA

Steve Marchillo, BA

Assistant Dean of Finance and Administration

stephen.marchillo@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3614

Room 204 HSSW

Senior Director of Strategic Initiatives & Community Engagement Milagros Marrero-Johnson

Milagros Marrero-Johnson, MSW

Senior Director of Strategic Initiatives and Community Engagement

Office of the Dean

milagros.marrero-johnson@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3606

Room 318 HSSW

Eunices Pineda headshot

Eunices Pineda, MSW

Educational Program Assistant 2

Office of Student and Academic Services

eunices.pineda@uconn.edu

Room 106 HSSW

Carmen Ragland

Carmen Ragland

Administrative Program Support

Office of Continuing Education and Professional Development

carmen.feliciano_ragland@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3617

Room 206 HSSW

Tessa Cugno, BA

Tessa Revoir, BA

Assistant to the Dean

Office of the Dean

tessa.revoir@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3648

Room 305 HSSW

Beth Sharkey

Beth Sharkey, MSW

Associate Director

Office of Continuing Education and Professional Development

beth.sharkey@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3620

Room 208 HSSW

iris strong headshot

Iris Strong, BA

Administrative Services Specialist III

Office of Finance and Administration

iris.strong@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3619

Room 207 HSSW

Nancy Urcinas

Nancy Urcinas

Administrative Services Specialist II

Practicum Education Department

nancy.urcinas@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3610

Room 112 HSSW